Euask
A community for mutual assistance and knowledge sharing

What color scheme is better? Reward $2
Created by Nelson1962, 2015 days ago, 2171 views

I am the kind of guy that spends at least 10 hours on a computer everyday, so my question is which color scheme is easier on your eyes: light text / dark background or dark text / light background?
Facebook Twitter Google+ Addthis

√ Best Answer

BM2013 days ago

I was just going to use a specific situation to answer this question... what would I prefer to look at when I've been sitting in the dark for a while, or just woken up?
The answer there is light text on a mostly dark background. (Mostly because the only thing that wouldn't be dark would be the text).
I am no expert on eyes, but that is just my personal experience, since that is how I have it on my Blackberry, and it helps so much when responding to late night texts.

I hope this helps! Good question, by the way. Its one of those little things that no one thinks about asking... but everyone appreciates it when you figure it out.
(may also depend on what is being viewed, now that I think about it).

• downvote

Whiterabbit012015 days ago

Dark text with a light background; nothing bold as itcan cause the rods and cones in your eyes to 'tire' quicker (I used to work as an opthalmologist before retiring) and casue eye strain. If you are spending 10 hours in front of a monitor it would also be advisable to use an eye spray to prevent dry and irritated eys, for example optrex actimist. I also spent an inordinate amount of time in front of a monitor. Staring at a screen for such lonng periods you'll find your blink responses are delayed, which leads to dry eyes. This can cause problems with the cornea if its not moisturised regularily.